To what extent do you agree with the following statement?

Popular events like the Football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tension and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

Because of economic disparity, the relationships among nations are full of tensions. Many people believe that international tensions can be eased by organizing events like football world cups, Olympics and so on. I do accord with this notion that cross-border events reduce political tensions, and enhance the respect among citizens of different countries.

To embark on, sports are the events that always bind people. For instance, in our schooling days, we make plethora of friends in our society, while playing game with each other. Similarly, if games are organised between two nations, citizens of both countries will be able to exchange their thoughts. To illustrate, India and Pakistan had a heinous relationship since independence i.e. since 1947; many battles were fought to resolve their disputes. However, in 2000, both countries decided to have peaceful talk to resolve their differences and a bilateral cricket tournament was organised. Since then, both countries able to maintain peaceful relationship; people of both countries understand each other, and respect each other’s values and culture.

Furthermore, in international events, emotion of patriotism is always at the peak. Although only players are involved in a game, whole nation is standing behind them. A good gesture among players will lead to a harmonious relationship among nations. For example, political relationships between South Korea and North Korea is not at all healthy; both countries are ready to fight each other. But, when an injured player was helped by South Korean player in a football match, it melted heart of fans of both countries.

To recapitulate, to ease political tension and to develop respect of each other’s culture, values and patriotism, organizing international events such as football world cups are one of the best way.