When people move to another country, some of them decide to allow the customs of the new country. Others prefer to keep their own customs. Compare these two choices. Which one do you prefer? Why?

Due to globalization, we are facing an increase in immigration, especially from countries with strong historical traditions to modern countries. Some are arguing that immigrant should adopt the host country’s customs, while other believe that a person should honor their native customs no matter whey they are living. In this essay, I shall discuss both views and will explain why I am in favor of the first idea.

On the one hand, people who choose to keep their home traditions, are growing the idea that everyone should respect their home country's traditions and the customs which have been kept by their ancestors, otherwise they will lose their national identity. For instance, people of the same origin tend to live in the same area in the new country as it is more simple to keep their home country way of living in that case. They also may incorporate the idea that they have the responsibility of showcasing their rich culture to the new country, which is a common idea among those countries that are not well known.

On the other hand, adopting new traditions will have some benefits too. Those who decide to merge into their new country’s customs, tend to adapt to the new hometown faster and easier. They are believing that every community and culture has something to offer and if they are living among those cultural traditions, it is more beneficial to follow those customs. Those with this way of thinking are usually felt less homesick and could be more successful in less time due to their angle.

In my opinion, People should respect their new host country's customs while they are keeping their own traditions as well. This will allow them to enjoy both worlds which is crucial to be a successful immigrant.

To conclude, Although there are benefits in both merging to the new country’s traditions and keeping the customs which are held by our ancestors, those who find a balance to honor both are choosing a better prospect.