Write about the following topic:

Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for environment.

What damage does plastic do to the environment?

What can be done by governments and individuals to solve the problem?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge and experience.

Nowdays, One of the major reasons for environmental pollution that our planet suffers from is Plastic. The bags, bottles and anything made from plastic is slowly poisoning our environment.It is a non biodegradable resource, which means that it is eternal and will not decompose over a long period of time.

Plastic damages our surrounding environment in a number of different ways, Firstly it will always pollute the land or sea wherever it is being disposed after it's utilization. If it has been dumped on the land it will keep accumulating, as more of it is being thrown in that dumping ground, which results inevitably in a huge pile of plastic. Long exposure to a material like plastic can turn the land into a infertile zone.For example, there is a dumping ground in the city of Delhi which has accumulated a humongous amount of plastic waste and as a result the land has turned barren. Dumping in the sea will in-turn develop into life threatning scenarios for the aquatic organisms. Last year, a Whale was found dead due to ingesting the plastic waste that was being disposed into the sea.Burning it also not a solution as it generates fumes that are toxic in nature and can cause severe health complications to birds or people.

Governments should ban plastic as a forceful measure to prevent further damaging the environment, moreover there should be proper processing plants in place to handle the plastic waste. It can be recycled and circulated into the market, keeping the overall count of plastic being used to a minimum. Individuals should also be aware of the segregation of non-recyclable and recyclable waste. Disposal of a non-biodegradable garbage such as plastic should be done in a responsible manner. Paper bags or any other material can be used instead of plastic. In India, in major cities it has been made mandatory to keep separate bins for both kind of waste materials and are disposed accordingly.

In conclusion, It is not only a responsibility of the government to take preventive measures against damages to environment due to the negative affects of plastic, but also the duty of an individual to take appropriate measures. It is a collective responsibility of everyone as a native beings of Earth.