Write about the following topic:

There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Number of students have increased dramatically in tertiary education institutes over the past few decades. Some people argue that it has improved the education level among communities, while others believe that it has negatively affected education quality. This essay will discuss both positive and negative aspects of this trend.

Undoubtedly, an increment in the number of pupils entering universities have numerous positive impacts. One major advantage is the production of more highly skilled entrepreneurs and professionals in a plethora of fields, which, consequently, will increase man force required for a country's economic and social development. For example, in the modern era, more Doctors and Engineers are being produced in specialised institutions that ensures an improved healthcare system and infrastructure. Creation of healthy competitive environment would be an added advantage. What is to say, competitiveness encourages students to master their subjects and gain valuable positions in public and private sectors of society to serve the country. Hence, more students in a university reflects a more productive population.

On the other hand, number of drawbacks are associated with an increase in numeracy of students in universities. Firstly, more people graduating from institutes means less availability of job opportunities in the employment sector. In other words, the availability of candidates per vacancy advertised in a newspaper or advert would increase at an alarming rate. Thus, it would exert negative strain on a country's economy by rendering more educated individuals jobless. Secondly, quality of overall education would be compromised as number of pupils per class would increase. Hence, professors would not be able to cater the personalised needs of each and every student, ultimately abolishing subject quality. What is to say, students would have better understanding of concepts if less students are there in a classroom.

In conclusion, despite having negative aspects such as employment competition and reduced education standards, increased figure of students studying at a university level is highly beneficial in terms of producing more educated professionals as well as promoting healthy competition among educated humans, hence it is a positive trend.