Writing task 2 (an essay)

In some countries many parents are interested in home schooling and the trend is gaining popularity. Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

From home schooling statistics, it's clear that home schooling is becoming more accepted method of education. This essay intends to explore the pros and cons of this phenomenon. However, I personally believe that disadvantages of trend are more than advantages.

The most important benefit of home schooling is individual teacher's attention. In home school children get undivided attention of the teacher. Moreover, the lesson plans can be tailored according to the ability of the child. In traditional school environments, classmates often learn at very different speeds. This helps slower learners stay on track with the class, but often leaves bright children bored and distracted. This home schooling environment also helps parents incorporate subjects that might not be included in the local school's curriculum, such as foreign language.

Perhaps, one of the best argument in favour of homeschooling is the guarantee of the child's safety. Bullying, fights and other school violence become a non-issue when the child is educated from home. What is more, sleep is vital to the emotional and physical well being of kids, especially teens and preteens. As homeschooled children can accomplish in a few hours what takes a typical classroom a week or more to cover, they get more time for their much-needed sleep.

On the other hand, keeping the child out of a traditional school environment greatly inhibits his/her access to other children. Learning to make friends and exist within a group are important life lessons that children could miss out on through homeschooling. Homeschooled children may be less inclined to share, demand person attention by acting out, or become socially awkward and anxious.

Additionally, school life is fled with plenty of exciting opportunities for children m these extracurricular activities can help children better adjust in society. While these culture and other opportunities can be provided while homeschooling the child, these are not the same as the child would experience in a group of his or her peers.

To put into nutshell, even though homeschooling has its merits, nothing can be better than sending the child to a traditional school.