Writing Task 2 (an essay)Nowadays advertisements of toys and fast food mostly focus on children. Some think that eventually it affects both children and their family. Do you agree or disagree?

These days it is widely argued that children are the targeted audience of toys and junk food advertisements. In-evidently some opine that the repercussions of this will be felt by both children and their family in the future. In my view, I completely agree that these advertisements try to lure young minds by making them believe that consuming fast food is healthy and owning a certain brand of toy gets you more friends.

Firstly, to begin with, advertisements display junk food as an essential and tastier source of nutrients rather than consuming home cooked food which children usually consider as bland and boring. Secondly, they also come out with exciting gifts and toys namely, McDonald's who give out complimentary toys on purchase of every happy meal. Lastly, they only advertise the nutritional value of their food and the unhealthy components are hidden for fear of sounding unappealing to their audience. Consequently, children fall prey to all these marketing gimmicks and are unwilling to listen to their parents when they try to inculcate healthy eating habits.

Moreover, advertisements for toys portray possessing certain items will automatically enable you to make friends and increases your social status among your peers. As a result, many children insist on buying the latest video games in order to be accepted by their friend circle. They turn adamant and stubborn and are unwilling to behave until they possess the toy. Eventually some get so addicted to their games that they cannot keep a track of time and are constantly glued to the screen, and hence parents have to resort to extreme measure like confiscating the toy or limiting screen time.

In conclusion, advertisements trick children into believing that fast food is beneficial and toys will elevate that status in society. They have an adverse effect on the minds of children which in turn affects them and their families.