You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The food industry has always thrived on the demands of taste buds. However, health awareness in recent times has changed the outlook on eating habits. Being a vegetarian by choice, I believe that there are more benefits to a vegetarian diet than a meat eating one. In this essay, I shall like to discuss the same.

Although there are a majority of nonvegetarians around the world, the statics are slowing beginning to favor the vegans and vegetarians. In countries like India, a large populous is known to be non-meat eaters. A large population chooses to be vegetarian, either due to religious beliefs, cruelty meted to animals, or just as a personal choice.

Defying myths to health-related topics and misconceptions against the lack of nutritional value of a vegetarian meal has now changed. A meal free of any meat or fish is much easier to digest. The chances of contracting any viral or flu are almost negligible.

The concept of mass breeding animals and slaughtering them for selfish reasons to satisfy gluttonous desires are not very appealing to a large part of society. For instance, G.M.O’s (Genetically modified organisms) used to obtain a certain quality of chicken, are harmful to the human body. Overconsumption of meat and other sea creatures disturbed the ecological balance. Extinction and endangerment of certain species have resulted due to this practice.

There is an entire food industry built around this misconception of healthy eating and serving. I strongly believe that adopting a vegetarian lifestyle is not only health but also beneficial to the ecosystem.