You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries.

Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

A serious issue which has been plaguing a lot of countries in recent years is that of increase in obesity amongst the children. It is becoming a serious issue, which is going to affect future generations to come. This essay will discuss some of the reasons, why this problem has occurred in first place and their possible consequences.

There are multiple reasons for the increase in the obesity amongst children but the primary reason which I think led to this issue are Environment and lifestyle. The current lifestyle and urbanization in wealthy countries make it virtually impossible for children to venture out and engage in outdoor sports. Not enough open areas or parks contribute to the issue to a large extent. Consequently, the children like to spend their time watching TV and playing video games for most of the time. In addition to this, Junk food and fast food multiplies the obesity, resulting into an entire generation of overweight children.

The dangerous consequences are already being seen amongst the current generation. Overall immunity of young people has decreased to a great extent. Fever, Joint pains etc are becoming very common these days. Health problems like heart disease and diabetes can be found in teenagers. These issues create problems for these children’s life-long and they are left to deal with this. Over and above, the children become introvert and shy as they feel they will not be accepted in society due to their overweight body and everyone will make fun of them.

In conclusion, it is clear that being overweight has a lot of negative impact on children’s lives. Unless and until strong steps are taken by everyone against this serious issue, future generations are at the risk of facing even more dangerous task of rebuilding.