“Your first impressions when you meet someone are always right.”

Do you agree with this statement?

Often first impressions form the basis for judging a person’s personality and background. There are two lines of thoughts when considering the significance of first impressions. I am inclined to agree that first impression is important to some extent; however, my support is in the favour of knowing the person better instead of establishing the judgments just on looks and the way of dressing as I support the more holistic way of getting to know people.

To begin with, I believe that the first impression only gives just a glimpse of somebody’s character. There can be a variety of underlying factors and reasons for why the person is behaving in a particular way. If someone, for example, is in their own world and does not initiate a conversation and does not smile in a party where it is required to mingle, it could be because maybe the person is not well enough or have a serious trouble in the family. Judging by his first impressions, that person can be easily labelled as arrogant and unfriendly. However, if someone made an effort to know the person and the reason behind being a recluse in the party, the former judgment is entirely reversed. In addition, outer appearances change and evolve but the inner personality remains the same. People who form their perception on the basis of outer fleeting appearances are often considered shallow and narrow.

On the contrary, there are instances where first impressions are of foremost importance, such as in job interviews. Recruiters are specifically trained to sort potential employees just on the basis of the first impression and recruiters hope that they are right. The first impression not only includes the way of dressing, but also the way a person speaks and carries himself.

To conclude, although there are instances where the first impression matters and needed to be taken into account, I strongly believe that it is always prudent to get to know a person before jumping to a conclusion.