The position of women in society has changed markedly in the last twenty years. Many of the problems young people now experience, such as juvenile delinquency, arise from the fact that many married women now work and are not at home to care for their children.

Gender equality being the buzzword today, the position of women has undergone a sea change in all dimensions of life from the last couple of decades. It is a widely undeniable fact that majority of women now work and are becoming a mitigating factor when it comes to child-rearing at home. Now the question arises, on this trend being the main cause attributing to the increase in juvenile crime rates? In my opinion, married women being employed could be one among the many reasons involved in adolescent delinquencies and I would like to take a via media approach to this moot issue.

First, aspect to be discoursed in this context would be the mammoth change in the status of woman since last years. This change has had its influence on all social, economic and political spheres of life. In the present scenario, a predominance of employed female common partners is justified to some extent, because of the emergence of the new world economic order, globalisation. They play an imperative role in the society, unlike the past. Moreover, there are more female political figures than ever before on a worldwide perspective.

The fact remains certain that children of employed women are not well reared compared to their counterparts. Most of these children are forced to spend a major part of their formative periods with the babysitters or in kindergartens. Once grown up, they establish bonds with other people or students from different walks of life. Unattended or left alone, it is these bonds that become detrimental for them in future.

The rate of adolescent crime rates and delinquencies are on an ever increase since last few years. Most of the cases when transacted meticulously portray the absence of motherly care and diligence in the upbringing of the child. Another fascinating thing would be that a majority of such children are from families where both parents work. According to various studies conducted by the panel of experts world over concise that whether employed or unemployed it is the carefree maternal attitude being the eminent reason behind the issue.

From the objective analysis on the above discourse, my conscientious allows me to conclude that irrelevant of being employed or not, it is the quality of maternal care during the formative period that should be accounted for the future prospective of one’s sibling.