1. If you are required to give feedback about your classmates/colleagues (work or performance), would you like to give positive comments or negative comments first?

There is no doubt that nowadays, giving feedback plays pivotal role in improving colleagues’ performance. No one can deny the effect of this on our professionals’ lives. Some may take the opinion that giving positive comments first is better but may some take an opposite viewpoint and say that giving negative comments first because they are very important for improving people. From my own perspective, the former belief is true due two reasons which I will discuss in paragraphs below.

The first noteworthy reason is when you give positive comments to your colleagues first, she trusts you more than the time you say negative comments first. Because people naturally reluctant to hear negative opinion about themselves because they think it decreases their self-esteem. So, if you assert something negative about them first they maybe feel uncomfortable and resent you and sometime ignore what you say and think you might be wrong or jealous of them. As result they defiant with you and maybe starting dispute to each other. In the other hand if you say positive comments about your colleagues first, it paves the way for you to tell negative point so easily. Because people have tendency to hear about their positive characteristics, so, when you would say it to them fist, they relied on your talk and then when you said their negative point they could accepted and thought about them. For instance, I had sensitive colleague in their company. When she took mistakes in her duties, no one could tell her mistakes. because when she heard something negative about herself, she started brawling with whom said this. One day, one psychologist came to their office and suggested us telling her positive point first then, when she relied on us, saying negative comments. It is great solution that help us to communicate with our colleagues better than before.

The second reason is that if you say positive comments first, your colleagues realize that you really want to help because you loved them. When you tell positive point first, your colleagues understand that you entirely see their strong point of their personality and you really want to improve their mistakes and help them to eliminate their mistakes. So, they can accept your negative comments easily and be grateful about you to tell them their negative points too. This situation provides an opportunity for you and your colleagues to become close friends along with you are best colleagues too. From my own experience, when I told my sensitive colleagues positive point first, it paved the way for me to told her negative point too. Furthermore, it helped us to became closer to each other and now we are close friend.

At the end of the discussion, although, saying negative point is more helpful for people than positives, but telling positive point first, paves the way for asserting negative point furthermore helped the people to accepted negative point easily