178 Barrons

The 21st century has begun. What changes do you think this new century will bring? Use examples and details in your amswer.

Climate change and global warming and their repercussions are the sources of main global concerns since several decades ago. Many international efforts have been made in order to prevent the upcoming detrimental effects of climate change. However, hopes are much faded to accomplish the prospective objectives because modeling and predicting climate variables are so complicated.

We should recall that global and regional effects of climate change are conspicuous. Droughts, Rising CO2 levels, monsoon rains, rising sea levels and destructing many natural habitats are some examples. For example, many severe droughts already did much harm in many regions. These droughts negatively affected agricultural crops and drinking water, which threaten the food security of human beings, and life living conditions of fauna and flora in ecosystems. In the future, however, it has been predicted that drought conditions will be exacerbated. As a result, many vulnerable regions such as the Middle East will be faced with food and human humanitarian crisis. These regions will be supposed to be evacuated and the regions where will be less affected by the crisis should await an extreme wave of refugees and immigrants. The disastrous consequences of droughts will be one aspect of climate change.

Ther might be another disasters that we should anticipate: Rising sea levels. The main cause of the rising sea level is the increase of CO2 levels. Since the industrial revolution, the average level of CO2 in the world has been drastically increased. It already melted a huge proportion of Arctic and Antarctic. Although some global collaborations and agreements, such as the Paris Agreement, between global leaders has been treatedratified, the trend is yet worrying. Rising sea levels will submerge many cities and villages which are builded built at shorelines. This also threatens the lives of millions of people. In addition, ices and glacials are also beneficial for regulation of climate and it takes millions of years to form a trivial area of icebergs. So, it is time to plan protecting schemes to save such valuable areas. Otherwise, we will observe the gradual disappearing of the poles.

All in all, I think many human decisions resulted in climate change. Climate change will severely threaten the existence of human being and human civilization unless the humans decide to protect their lovely home, the Earth.