The ability to maintain a small number of friends for a long time is more important to happiness than the ability to make new friends easily.

With the technology developing, people are focusing their attention to the popular topic which is the social relationship. Nowadays, it seems to make new friends due to variables path to make friends and maintain the friendship. Some argues that it is critical to make new friends easily to gain happiness. Others hold the opposite opinion and support that we should keep maintain only small number of friends for a long time to gain happiness. From my own perspective, I side with the latter one with the following reasons.

First come into mind is that old friends know you much better than new friends. Old friends who keep friendship with me for several years, they can easily to help me to get through the dilemma I meet in my life. I studied aboard for my master degree in a prestigious university. However, I felt it was so hard to keep the pace with professor and finish the homework on time. What’s worse, I did not make some new friends in US. Lucky me, I still got some of my best friends in China. So I will talked with them about the situation that I was facing. They gave me tons of suggestions and comfort me to carry on. Their suggestions were extreme useful to me, because these pieces of advice were made that standing in my angle and suit my characteristic. That’s the reason why I can pass the dilemma for short time. In this way, I do not believe new friends can provide such advice for me, because they know nothing about me, besides they are unable to help me to solve my own problems in my shoes.

Another aspect to point out is that maintaining friendship itself will provide happiness to us and making friends will not. For me, the happiness comes when my friends and I solve the problem which is the barrier to our friendship. It always have some small disagreement or different opinion among friends. So it is the time for us to solve the problem without damaging our friendship. To illustrate clearly, I am taking my own experience as an example. I and my friends Madura have a different opinion about finishing group project. He insists that we have to use Latex as a word editor to finish our projects, but for me, we do not have enough time to care about the format of the report and we should the limited time in the content. We even have a small fight for this issue. We try to understand other’s points when we calm down. In addition, our friendship become even stronger after this small argument, because we understand each other much better than before. As a result, we gain happiness during maintaining our friendship.

Admittedly, it is much more easily to make new friends to gain a happiness to some extent. We are able to make so called new friends through the apps in our smart phone, and gain the excitement of knowing strangers. However, I do not considers it as kind of happiness. For me, happiness is a perish thing that we should tried hard for a long time and then we deserve it.Thus, I cannot gain any happiness for getting to know new friends easily.

On the whole, according to above-mentioned points and ideas, it is crystal-clear that we gain happiness for keeping a long time friendship with small number of friends than making new friends easily.