Agree or disagree: automobiles destroy our quality of life.

Human beings have been receiving benefits from automobiles. The development of cars enables us to travel distant places ,transport people and goods and also facilitated the social and cultural exchange. However, automobiles have brought many disadvantages to our lives as well. The number of casualties from car accidents have been increased as well as animals killed on the road by cars. I agree with the opinion that the invention of cars have degraded the quality of peoples life. Automobiles are dangerous and often cause severe damage to people's body and lives. Also, the invention of cars lead to the destruction of environments and gives stress to drivers.

First of all, automobiles could be detrimental the case of a car accident. The invention of the car enabled people to quickly transport to distant places, but sometimes the swiftness could be dangerous to people. Although there are several technologies to make driving safe, driving carelessly and drunk driving can seriously damage a driver's body or even kill them. Furthermore, car accidents causes financial loss in terms of hospital and repairing fees. In retrospect, I once had a car crash a few years ago, and I damaged my left ankle, which I had to stay in the hospital for several months, which I had to pay a lot in addition to getting my car fixed. Also, car accidents could harm innocent pedestrians. Especially, pedestrians have no protection such as air bags, which means that they are more likely to suffer from heavy injuries. Considering the influence of car accidents, the use of automobiles can lead to destruction of our quality of life.

Moreover, the use of automobiles severely impacts the environment. The combustion of fossil fuels by automobiles release carbon dioxide which accelerates global warming. Due to the impact of global warming, climate change is taking place and number of natural disasters such as typhoons and tornadoes are increasing. Furthermore, as the average temperature increases, people will have to suffer from the hot, humid weather. If people keep insisting on using automobiles, humans cannot sustain the quality of their life. Also, cars discharge toxic chemicals such as carbon monoxide and benzene peroxide which both degrades the quality of air makes people cough and even kill them. For example, in the 1970's Britain, many people died from smog, which is a combination between car fumes and natural fog. According to a research, these chemicals are not only harmful for your body organs but also carcinogenic, which means that they cause cancer. Fresh air is necessary for people to live, stay healthy and enjoy outside activities. Therefore, the use of automobiles will threaten people's health and eventually degrade people's quality of life.

In addition, driving a car could be a stressful work. Have you ever had experience of getting stressed when stuck in a traffic jam? These days the excessive number of cars creates heavy traffic on the road, causing both inevitable mental and physical stress to a driver. For example, drivers could feel extreme fatigue just by sitting in a car for few hours. Also, when pressed for time, for example when you're late for school or work, the stress could be detrimental. According to a research conducted by Australia National University, the more time you are driving, both the amount of stress you get and the risk of hemorrhoids and depression gets higher. Thus, the stress of driving applies to drivers affects people's quality of life.

In conclusion, automobiles could seriously destroy our quality of life. People are endangered from car accidents, and the environmental impact automobile causes affects people's health and the natural habitats. Furthermore it will seriously affect the quality of people's lives