Agree or Disagree:The most important ways to improve the people’s health is to clean the environment.

Rachel Carson, the author of “Silent Spring,” published this astonishing book in 1962 that transmitted this alarming message: Can you imagine flocks of birds flew freely or sung happily when perched on tree branches in the past but now they suddenly disappear, nowhere to be seen? The culprit is the exploitation of DDT. Discerning the drawbacks and potential harms caused by DDT, Carson has duly reminded human beings of the damage we are causing to environment. A devastated environment is just like a malignant tumor, inflicting pains and compromising our well-being. Therefore, it is of my opinion that the most important way to improve people’s health is to clean the environment.

To begin with, a clean environment can effectively filter out noisome pollutants in the air, which spares people from common ailments, such as skin problems or respiratory diseases and makes people more physically robust. Taiwan has witnessed an exponential development in infrastructure and the meteoric growth in the ownership of private vehicles for the past decades. However, the seemingly fast development belies an accompanying repercussion on the environment: the amount of carbon monoxide and sulfur dioxide in the air has been on the rise. Such increase not only makes the quality of the air unbearably bad but also contributes to many local residents contracted with lung cancers. Noticing this severe problem, Taiwanese government has commenced to initiate some tree-planting programs to help mitigate the impact that bumper-to-bumper traffic has exerted on the environment. Since trees can help absorb those pollutants, it has been noticed that the rate of people contracting lung cancers has dropped by twenty-percent. A clean environment is conducive to and paramount in reducing our chances of getting physically ill.

Furthermore, a clean environment is the very first step to motivate people to lead a healthy lifestyle. Imagine a city where it were plagued with smog, filled with dust. People around you were all wearing gas masks and gloves. The visibility was so low that you could barely see your hands. Would you desire to go outside and jog under this condition? Or imagine that rural areas where all of your food ingredients came from were heavily polluted by metals, such as zinc and copper. The earth was filled with these toxic elements and so was your food. Therefore, instead of consuming these contaminated conventionally grown agricultural yields, you chose to wolf down artificially-made products that are made of ingredients which are far from wholesome, or even worse to your well-being. Would that do any good to your health? Therefore, I think a clean environment is crucial in helping a person establish the motivation of living in a healthy fashion.

Irrefutably, some dissidents may disavow my argument by asserting that cleaning the environment might not be the most effective way to improve people’s health since there are many other factors at play that affect their well-beings. For example, people might come down with cardiovascular diseases, such as stroke or heart attack, if their diets mainly consist of high content of salt or saturated fat. However, have those people forgotten that the most fundamental element for people to go on for a healthy diet or to be willing to step out to exercise regularly is to have a clean environment where they can immerse themselves or where their freshly-grown food can be produced? Or have they not realized that a pristine environment condition is pivotal in helping a person stay mentally and physically sturdy? Hence, I strongly contend that there is no measure more effective than cleaning up the environment to make a person healthy.