Agree/Disagree

Movies and TV programs have more negative effects than negative effects on the way young children behave.

In today’s convoluted world, there are multifarious agents which impact on children’ personality. In this regard, there is a controversial debate among individuals about the merits and demerits of watching TV for children’s behavior. Some people may hold the view that watching TV programs have positive impacts on children’s behavior, while, some others consider an opposing viewpoint. I firmly believe that the disadvantages of watching TV on children’s behavior outweigh its advantages. In the following, I will elaborate upon my standpoint through two pieces of evidence.

The first exquisite point to mention is that following TV programs containing violet and improper contents can negatively impact on children mind. It is obvious that children are receptive to whatever they watch and attempt to imitate it. As a result, watching unsuitable programs can motivate them to do these actions on own. Imitating these actions not only can pose a threat to their health but also negatively impacts on their social relationships. By way of illustration, consider my own experience as an example. When I was a primary student, I used to watch western movies which showed actors had troubles which others and fought to reach their goals. Moreover, the main character in these movies smoked professionally to seem more appealing. Therefore, watching these movies encouraged me to start smoking in those ages which damaged my lungs. Additionally, I used to apply their unsuitable phrases for speaking with my friends who gave rise to lose some of my friends.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that watching movies and TV programs can endanger family relationships. No one can neglect the fact that young people watching TV channels pay less attention to their environment. Therefore, they will less cooperate on the household chores and are less inclined to deal with family issues. Needless to say, a sedentary lifestyle is one of the most common troubles in modern families which threaten youth health both mentally and physically. Consequently, young children would be extremely lazier and less opts to follow parents’ rules. According to a recent study that has been conducted in the psychology faculty of Tehran University, researchers investigated the relation between the number of hours which young children watched TV, and their aggressive behavior against parents requires. The results revealed that the more children watch TV programs, the more they dismiss parents’ requisitions.

In brief, one can logically conclude that spending fewer hours watching TV and movies can benefit children’s behavior regarding children sustainability to imitate a celebrity’s actions and their less attention to their duties. However, there are other reasons and examples, challenging these reasons, not mentioned above. All in all, it is highly recommended that a survey can assess the profound impacts of spending time for watching TV and movies on children’s morale.