Agree/Disagree

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what the field of study is.

In today’s convoluted world, education plays a monumental role in assisting the majority of persons to enhance their social situation. So, educational courses and what people learn in these courses are considered more significant than before. In this regard, there is controversial debate among individuals about the significance of history courses in universities. Some people may subscribe for the view that students of all majors should be stipulated to attend history courses, while, some others take the opposing viewpoint. I firmly believe that requiring students to take history courses have some merits for both students and their community. In the following, I will elaborate upon my standpoint through two pieces of evidence.

The first exquisite point to mention is that attending at history course can pave the way for students to become financially flourishing in the future. It is obvious that taking courses in history can give pupils the opportunity to acquire some information about the historical events in their own country and even in the foreign countries. Moreover, no one can overlook the fact that history learners would learn about the impacts of international relations on the social and economic situation of different countries. As a result, the more people know about the historical events and solutions that are provided for them, the more they would be creative to resolve recent problems. In other words, having history backgrounds give people the chance to apply previous clues to devise innovative and practical solutions. Take a personal experience as an example; when I studied at Tehran University, I needed to take an introductory and advanced course in contemporary history for graduation. Consequently, I could sharped my general knowledge about the impacts of international relations on my country’s stock market. Therefore, having expertise in this area enabled me to achieve a living during university years and stand on my own feet.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that enhancing students’ wisdom about their local history positively impacts on the society. Needless to say, those attending in history classes gain more knowledge about the history of their country and their local community. Boosting students’ information about their history not only can be inspiring but also can provide them with a national identity. In this circumstance, the future society includes more patriotic youngsters who are more volunteer to sacrifice their possessions for developing community’s advancement. According to a recent article that has been published in Time magazine, sociologists recognized the primary roots of recent protestations in Mexico concerning changing its gulf name. The paper revealed that although the Mexican gulf name has changed more than 30 years ago to the Pacific gulf, younger people are more cognizant about its historical roots thanks to their educational system. So, they attempted to reverse its name to its previous title in order to renovate its importance through the world.

In brief, one can logically conclude that taking classes in history can benefit him and his community regarding its capability to enhance students’ knowledge about the relationship between historical occurrences and economic situations and renovating national identity among youngsters. However, there are other reasons and examples, challenging these reasons, not mentioned above. All in all, it is highly recommended that a survey can assess the validity of the claims that are mentioned above.