Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch the news

presented by people whose views are similar to your own than by people whose views are different

from yours.

Throughout our history, being informed has been playing a significant role in people’ lives. With this in mind, the galloping rate of developing mass media has overwhelmed individuals with various opinions. In this regard, there is a controversial debate between people about how individuals should choose their sources of news. Some people may hold the view that individuals should follow the story from sources which are similar to their views, while, some others take an opposite viewpoint. I strongly contend that it would be beneficial for people to follow the latest news from various sources even sources which have different ideas. In the following, I will elaborate upon my standpoint through two pieces of evidence.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that those who listen and read news from various sources of information would have the opportunity to receive an extensive range of knowledge. Moreover, it is generally agreed that following opponent sources of news not only can consolidate people’s information but also broaden their horizons. Take a personal experience as an example, when I studied in a primary school, I used to be extremely strict about my religion. In other words, I neither listened to people who thought different nor spoke with them. As a result, I used to be a narrow-minded man. Attending at Tehran University gave me the chance to live with people from various religions in the same dorm room. So, this atmosphere enabled us to both discuss our beliefs and know more about our opinions. Although, at the begging of our meetings we had many conflicts, we could give a hand to each other to develop our knowledge of different ideas. Consequently, when I remember those memories, I found that hadn’t I listened to my classmate’s views, I would not have got familiar with numerous religions.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that reading and listening to news and views thinking different us paves the way for socializing. No one can neglect the fact that while people follow opponent opinions, they open doors to other people’s ideas. Thus, the majority of human kinds can take full advantages of this setting for making new friends and extending their relationships. According to a recent study that was published in Time Magazine, researchers evaluated the behavior of those audiences who are Republican but follow the Fox news programs. Fox news is a Democratic TV channel that in fact criticizes the opinions of Republicans. The noteworthy results of the study show that group of Republicans are well-coming to Democrats and even could establish some friends with them.

In brief, one can logically conclude that following opponent news sources can benefit him more regarding broadening people’s horizons and extending his network. However, there are other reasons, challenging these reasons, not mentioned above. All in all, it is highly recommended that a survey can assess the profound results of this phenomenon on people’s morale.