Sometimes people are assigned to work in a group on a project. Do you agree or disagree with the

following statement?

The group will be helped more by a person who is willing to do what other group members want than by

a person who often strongly insists that things should be done in a way that is different from what the

group wants to do

By and large, it is established beyond doubts that nowadays people attempt to optimize the efficiency of their groups by various method since team working play a significant role in all kinds of projects somehow. In this regard, there is a controversial debate among people about the characteristics of group members that can impact on the efficiency of a group. Some people may hold the view that individuals willing to do what other group members want to assist the team more than individuals insisting on their desires and have a different tendency. I strongly contend that team members who think differently and ask about their own beliefs can help the team more than obedient people willing to accept other’s thoughts quickly. In the following, I will elaborate upon my standpoint through three reasonable pieces of evidence.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that those who vehemently insist on their desires can pave the way for new solutions and ideas. It is generally agreed that people who discuss their own beliefs and thoughts in a team can spark new ideas in other’s minds. Moreover, applying new views and opinions in teamwork can be not only constructive but also informative. Take a personal experience as an example; when I was a primary student, my friends and I used to constitute numerous meetings to discuss hard mathematical questions. In those meetings, although most, if not all, we agreed to the correct solution of an issue, one of our friends made a disagreement and insisted on his claims. At the beginnings of the meetings, we all tried to cast doubts on his ideas and neglect him. Meanwhile, after a while, we applied his great, brilliant opinions that could facilitate our solution more than before. Hadn’t my friend offered us these fascinating ideas, we would not have been resolved those problems efficiently.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that individuals who insist on their thoughts in a group can strengthen the ties of relationship. Needless to say that people who state their own opinions and not much willing to other’s views can enable doors for more discussion. Therefore, team members need to spend more time with each other to cope with various ideas. As a result, the more team members spend time with each other, they would socialize more, and they cooperate effectively. According to a recent study that conducted in Tehran University, researchers investigated numerous characteristics of team members on their relationships. The results show that while one of the team members try not to accept others’ opinion, team members put more effort to convince him or her. They may invite each other to their parties or might go to community clubs to have the chance to speak about their problems. As a consequence, the researchers reached to this conclusion that even though rejecting others opinions may pose a threat on the success of the group in short-term, it would improve team members relationships which can develop the success of a group in long-term.

In brief, one can logically conclude that a person who insists on his or her thoughts can open doors for more success regarding provoking new brilliant ideas and strengthening ties of relationship. However, there are other reasons and examples, challenging these reasons, not mentioned above. All in all, It is highly recommended that a survey can assess the impacts of this phenomenon on the groups’ prosperity.