Agree/Disagree

In the past young depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them, today young people are better to make decisions about their own lives

Through history, making a decision has been considered as a significant part of youngster's live. In this regard, there is a controversial debate among individuals whether young people living nowadays are dependent on their parents more or less than before. Some people may hold the view that young people who live these days are more independent than youngsters who lived in the past in making decisions, while some others take the opposite viewpoint. I strongly contend that young people living today are better able to make decisions about their own lives. In the following, I will elaborate upon my standpoint through two pieces of evidence.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that those who live nowadays are more independent than before thanks to technological developments. It is generally agreed that most of the youngsters have the opportunity to read various kinds of papers and listen to numerous podcast to consolidate their knowledge in different fields. Moreover, no one can neglect the fact that recent youngsters have the chance to broaden their horizons by accessing these huge materials which give them a hand to make a decision more effectively. Take a personal experience as an example; when I studied in primary school, I had to gain essential information about high-ranked universities to continue my education. In this circumstance, I grasp lots of information about rankings of prestigious universities in my country by getting online and review some related websites. On the other hand, my father narrated that lack of knowledge about great universities in his era led to a trip that my father and grandfather had to visit different cities to investigate different universities.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that the economic well-being of young people have developed thanks to industrial developments which enables them to be more independent. Needless to say that young people face less financial issues due to high salary jobs that are available. Therefore, young people not only are more independent but also have high endeavor to take financial risks. According to a recent study that has been conducted at California University, there is a direct relationship between the independence and economic level. In other words, the more people have money, the more they feel independence. The results of this research show that people who can afford their basic needs on their own, attempt to make decisive decisions for their future life.

In brief, one can logically conclude that young individuals who live nowadays are less dependent on their parents regarding accessing to correct and up-to-date information at the spur of moments and enhancing economic situation of young people. However, there are other reasons, challenging these reasons, not mentioned above. All in all, it is highly recommended that a survey can assess the validity of this argument.