Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Historically, people tend to establish and develop their relationships with different kinds of people. There are numerous merits for making a friend. In this regard, there is a controversial debate among individuals about the relationship between the closeness of friendship and having joyful moments with our friends. Some people may hold the view that the intimacy of friendship play a crucial role in enjoying from the relationship, while, some others take the opposite viewpoint. I firmly believe people who maintained their friendships for longer times enjoy their relationships more. In the following, I will elaborate upon my standpoint through two pieces of evidence.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that the more people are close to each other, the more they would be supportive, which paves the way for having quality times in a relationship. It is generally agreed that people who spend more time with each other are more cognizant of the problems and difficulties of their friends. Moreover, they have an excellent knowledge of each other's weaknesses and strengths. As a result, people who face trouble can account for their intimate friends more. Take a personal experience as an example, when I studied at Tehran University, I had the opportunity of living in dorm rooms due to the reason that I studied far away. In other words, living in dorm rooms provide me the opportunity to spend most of my time with one of my classmates. In this circumstance, we resolved most of the mathematical problems with each other. Therefore, we knew each others' capabilities significantly. As a result, this phenomenon assisted us in meeting deadlines effectively thanks to the fact that we helped each other by carrying out our assignments.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that spending an extended period with our friends can enable us to deepen our relationships. No one can neglect the fact that those who spend more time with each other not only share more information with each other but also look at different issues in the same way. In fact, having friends for an extended period can make their line of thoughts parallel. According to a recent study that has been published in Time magazine, researchers investigated the relation between hobbies of more than 320 employees in a developing software corporation. The results revealed that most of the employees who worked in the same room had similar outdoor activities. Additionally, they inclined to spend their leisure times with roommates because they have the same interests and can enjoy more with each others' company.

In brief, one can logically conclude that spending an extended period with close friends can open doors for having more happy time regarding its capability to make friends more supportive and deepening their relationships by sharing interests. However, there are other reasons and examples, challenging these reasons, not mentioned above. All in all, it is highly recommended that a survey can assess the profound results of having intimate friends than making new friends on people's morale.