This topic has been offered at least 2 times in the past 10 months: Some people believe

that spending time away from people we care about helps us improve our relationship with them,

because being away from these people makes us realize how important they are to us. Other people

believe that to improve our relationships with the people we care about, we should spend as much

time with them as possible, because spending time apart can damage or harm a relationship. Which

view do you agree with and why?

In today’s convoluted world friendship play a monumental role in people’s lives. It is not far-fetched to assume that some people share most of their personal facts with their friends. In this regard, there is a controversial debate among individual among people about the relation between the time that people spend with each other and the intimacy of their relationship. Some people may hold the view that the most people spend time away from their friends, the most their relationship will improve, while, some others take the opposing viewpoint. I firmly believe that reducing the amount of time people spend with each other can damage people’s relationships. In the following, I will elaborate upon my standpoint through two pieces of evidence.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that regular meetings can optimize a relationship. It is generally agreed that when people meet up with each other, they would have more opportunity to recognize each other’s personality traits and characteristics. Knowing more about our friends’ hallmarks can pave the way for enhancing our relationships. Take a personal experience as an example; when I studied at Tehran University, I required living in dorm rooms due to the fact that I studied far away. In this circumstance, I lived more than three years with one of my roommates named Roozbahan in the same room. Spending lots of time with each other enabled us to discuss our hobbies and favorite activities. Moreover, we watched most of the recent movies with each other and spoke about the strengths and weaknesses of them. As a result, at the final days of the university, we had a meticulous knowledge of our likes and dislikes which caused quality time for us. Had I not spent an extreme amount of time with Roozbahan, I would not have been able to find an intimate friend like him in my life.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that spending much time with our friends opens doors for optimizing their closeness. No one can neglect the fact that when people spend time with each other, they would have more chance to deal with their friends’ problems. Needless to say being supportive is one of the main measures of a qualified friend as the quote says ‘a friend in need is a friend indeed.’ Consequently, coping with issues can give rise to improving a relationship. According to a recent study that was published in Time magazine, researchers investigated the relationship between more than 150 employees in 21 companies. The results revealed that coworkers who spend some time for manipulating a specified issue are well-coming to strengthen their relationships more than working hours. Interestingly, more than 87 percent of coworkers dealing with the same problem, having family relationships.

In brief, one can logically conclude that spending the most time with our friends can deepen our relationships more regarding its capability of recognizing his friends’ characters and an increasing sense of supportive among friends. However, there are other reasons and example, challenging these reasons, not mentioned above. All in all, it is highly recommended that a survey can assess the profound consequences of this argument on friends’ morale.