Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is impossible to always be completely honest with your friends

Throughout history, relationships have been playing a crucial role in people’s lives. Various kinds of characteristics may pose a threat to a relationship or make it stronger. In this regard, there is a long-standing discussion among individuals about the possibility of being always honest with your friends. Some people may hold the view that being honest all the time is not possible, while some others take the opposite viewpoint. I strongly contend that being completely honest seems to be impossible. In the following, I will elaborate upon my standpoint through two pieces of evidence.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that living a hectic lifestyle could be the main significant obstacle of being completely honest. It is generally agreed that people who live nowadays need to spend more hours of their life in their work offices. Moreover, no one can neglect the fact that people are more overwhelmed with various kinds of technological devices. Therefore, those who live these days have a tendency to spend fewer times with their friends and relatives. In this circumstance, the majority of human generation is less inclined to make a description of their trivial parts of their lives and might not tell the truth. Take a personal experience as an example; my friend—Ali—and I have accustomed to each other for more than 4 years. Although we are intimate friends, we spend fewer hours with each other due to different working places. Our weekly meeting is such a great time for speaking about our happenings during the last week. However, lack of enough time prevents us from being completely honest and we need to overlook lots of details of our experiences.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that being completely honest all the time can lead to various conflictions. No one can neglect the fact that different friends think differently so, they react to different situations variously. When someone attempts to avoid telling white lies in a relationship, by means of which he or she may cause a catastrophic situation. According to a recent study that has been published In Time magazine, even though being loyal can pave the way for having a strong marriage, more than 25 percent of divorces are attributable to another phenomenon. Statistics show that wives that try to be completely honest with their husbands might spark diversified conflicts thanks to their sentimentality.

In brief, one can logically draw the conclusion that being completely honest not only seems to be impossible in this modern lifestyle with a galloping pace but also may produce quarrels between family members. However, there are other reasons and examples, challenging these ideas not mentioned above. All in all, it is highly recommended that a survey can assess the possibility of this argument.