Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is impossible to always be completely honest with your friends.

Without a shadow of a doubt, Honesty is a decisive factor in the foundation of every relationship, and it is an approach toward retaining them. An unanswered question in this area is whether it is possible to keep this frankness with friends in different circumstances. Despite all the arguments asserting that the two sides of a friendship should always be honest with each other, I believe otherwise, maintaining that there are situations in this given hectic life in which people can not tell their friends a specific matter or have to lie about something. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

First and foremost, sometimes, peoples' living conditions deviate from their dominant lifestyle toward chaotic situations, which can be conducive to a transient alteration in individuals' personalities. In other words, people might undergo short-period circumstances that make them want to be alone and not talk to anyone. On the other hand, in these situations, friends want to be by the side of their depressed friend and help them recover. Therefore, these controversial opinions seed the plants of dishonesty in their relationship. As a matter of fact, the incentive for being untruthful is because the one side who is not in the mood does not want their friend to think of the dilution of their relationship as a reason for not talking. Moreover, devoting time for yourself in these sorts of conditions can be an excellent approach for rebounding than talking even to your best friend, for it gives you enough time to relieve the pain by meditation. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I remember being despondent for a short time back in high school, which made me reluctant to talk to anyone. The friends of mine who let me be on my own made me feel better. However, some of them insisted on having a conversation and resolving my problem, which forced me not to tell the truth to them. In addition, that conversation dimmed our

friendship in the long run.

Another reason to be mentioned is that there is a myriad of matters in an individual's private life that can not be told to anyone out of the circle of family. To put it more simply, some issues can occur in a family, such as an incurable disease, which people do not want to tell about them to their friends. Hence, they should cover their genuine sentiment either with lying or affectation, which in both cases can be considered as dishonesty in a relationship. For example, consider a child whose parents are getting a divorce. Needless to say, this child does not want to discuss this topic, and if friends of their ask, the child can readily lie and sparks dishonesty.

Reflecting upon all reasons mentioned above, one soon realizes that being frank in friendships is not always a plausible choice, nor is it rational, and that is on two grounds firstly, sometimes people get stuck in situations in which the best way to get rid of it is to be alone and not to talk friends, nor do tell the truth, secondly, some topics are private and should not be told to friends.