Agree/Disagree

Governments shoud spend money to improve internent access than to improve public transportaion

In today's convoluted world, governors are overwhelmed with multifarious issues in order to manage the society effectively. In this regard, there is a controversial debate among individuals about the different policies of spending money on social problems. Some people may hold the view that devoting budgets for developing public transportations can aid the society in a superior way, while some others take the opposing viewpoint. I firmly believe that society's budgets should be spent on enhancing the quality and the number of services of public transportation than internet access. In the following, I will elaborate upon my standpoint through two pieces of evidence.

The first exquisite point to mention is that allocating budgets on public transportation can enhance the quality of life in cities. It is obvious that public transportation systems such as subways, bus services, and even taxi services bring with it lots of advantages from dropping out the unemployment rate to enhancing the quality of air and even assisting the community for having economic growth. It would be no exaggeration if someone says that the merits of establishing public transportation services outnumber the benefits of enhancing internet access. By way of illustration, take my own experience as an example. During recent years, Tehran -the capital of Iran- has had the opportunity to develop its subway stations from 12 to more than 76. Recently, I read a paper about the results of this project. The consequences showed that this project has employed more than 2300 persons for their services, reduced the emission of PM1.0 -the main pollutant of air pollution in Tehran, as a result of using private cars- to less than 12 PPM.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that allocating money for increasing people's access can provide some social problems. No one can neglect the fact that although internet access has helped individuals to enhance their general knowledge, it has brought with it some social problems. In other words, the internet has opened doors for committing more crimes, developing bad literature and even imitating unappropriated behaviors of celebrities by juveniles. According to a recent study that has been published in Time magazine, there is a direct relationship between juvenile delinquency and accessing to the internet. To put it briefly, the more youngsters have access to a wide variety of information, the more they are inclined to deal with improper activities. The results of this study revealed that more than two third of young persons living in California spending more than 3 hours on watching video clips on YOUTUBE. In addition, they tend to imitate some actions that they see for instance smoking like HOLLYWOOD stars.