Your friend has the opportunity to study in either one of two majors (fields of study). Which one of the

following two types of majors do you think is a better choice and why?

- A major that would allow your friend to complete his or her studies and get a degree faster (so that

your friend can start working full-time soon).

- A major that would require more years of study but is likely to lead to more and better employment

opportunities and job offers in the future.

We are living in an age in which education plays a crucial role in the development of people in a broad sense and in their job particularly. In this regard, there is a long-standing discussion among individuals about whether a major which requires more years of study is more beneficial than a major which needs fewer years to be graduated. Some people may hold the view that completing studies and getting a degree faster would be more suitable, while, some others may take an opposite viewpoint. I strongly contend that choosing a major that requires more years of study will assist students to take a more prestigious job and would be more beneficial for students. In the following, I will elaborate upon my standpoint through two reasonable pieces of evidence.

The First exquisite point to be mentioned is that it is generally agreed that people’s knowledge and skills play a significant role in finding their ideal job. The more someone is knowledgeable, the more he or she would be successful to find a high-ranked carrier and climb the carrier ladder more effectively. Additionally, Needless to say, that people who spend more years to study at university are more respected and honored which opens doors for fostering their job positions. Take a personal experience as an example. I studied in Tehran University for more than 6 years for getting a master license in GIS engineering field. It took long years to master all of the details which are essential information that one actually need during his or her career. Meanwhile, on the other hand, my brother took a 2 years course in the rudimentary and introductory materials of my major. Although he had the chance to start his own business at the same time that I launched, I could take full advantages of my knowledge to promote my business in an excellent fashion that helped me make money than him.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that people who spend more years on their studies at a university could not only extend their networks of friends but also take full advantages of their relations. It is generally agreed that those who study more than other people have the chance to live more time in dorm rooms with their close friends and classmates. Furthermore, living in dorm rooms especially living away has lots of advantages along the joyful moments that students experience with each other's company. According to a recent study that has been published in Time magazine, students who devote more time for graduating from master positions have stronger relationships with their intimate friends thanks to the fact that they live a long time with each other. However, students who are recruited by companies after taking a short time course seems to be more anxious and nervous since they bear more nervous hours during their youngsters and have not had the opportunity to develop and strength their ties of relationships.

In brief, one can logically draw the conclusion that spending more hours at a university by choosing majors which takes more time can benefit him in terms of enhancing his knowledge and improving his relations. However, there are other reasons and examples which challenge these ideas, not mentioned above. It is highly recommended that a survey can assess the profound results of this decision on students’ morale and performance.