All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Give example and reason of support

Some people are inclined towards the attribute that all university students should take history classes, whereas, others hold the opposite perspective. I personally, though, believe that taking history courses by all the university students regardless of their field of study is not a better choice. No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of not taking history class by the students. In the following essay, I intend to put forth my points and reasons for support.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that university is a place where students want to learn their interesting fields. Obviously, it will be of no benefit when students are forced to learn history as they will not put their heart and soul in it. As a person, I strongly agree that knowing about our history is an essential thing.But on the other hand, if the students have a zero interest in the subject, they will not do justice to the course.Consequently, they just waste their precious time which can be utilize in learning something from their field. As a result, the academic performance of the students gets affected because they are reading history courses just for the sake of grades or obligation. For instance, one of my friends who was doing aeronautical engineering and didn't have any inclination towards history had to take a history course. Eventually, he failed his examination as his mind got scattered and he was not able to prepare well for it. Therefore, this example illustrates that if he has a choice of eliminating history courses, the results would be opposite and he would not have to suffer.

Secondly,to explain it more broadly, people join university to be experts in a specific area of study instead of basically knowing everything. Actually, in my opinion, the purpose of going to university is to study selected courses in the field we want to specialize in. Therefore, pressurizing students to study subjects that are of no interest to them, probably make students reluctant to pursue higher education.

Finally, the last thing I want to mention is that in our school days, we study basic history which I think is sufficient for a person. Also, to add to this, if anyone shows interest in taking history courses and wants to learn more about history may take these courses.

In the light of the above reasons mentioned, I strongly believe that history courses must not be compulsory courses regardless of the field of study, rather they can be optional and depend on personal choices.