Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

When we, as humans being, are asked about what are we looking in someone else when it comes to a friendship or a romantic relationship, we tend to name “honesty” as one of the most important qualities we could ask for in a person. And this is completely natural and normal, because people tend to relate being honest, with being respected; and everyone wants to be respected. That’s why I agree with the fact that saying the truth, is a fundamental pillar in every single relationship I’ve decided to build though my life.

Scientifically it is known that social interactions are a need in human’s life, as we can see stated in the Maslow’s Hyerarchy of Needs. And for those who are all day surrounded by family members, friends, co-workers or even a partner, it is important to know the people we are surrounded by are on the same page as us. Also when it comes to people with who we build a personal relationship and become open about our truths, we expect them to be as sincere as we are. At the moment this person stops being honest, it tends to generate in ourselves conflict about how open we were with one another and this may lead to problems in future relationships. It can become harder to trust and, in many cases, be trusted.

On the other hand, when we’re honest with one another, we give the person the right to decide whether they want us in their lives or not, it’s not our decision anymore. Which is somehow good, because it could determinate the level of compromise of that person towards us. We can share a moment to be real, and let others to be real too. Keeping secrets can cause stress and anxiety, and at the moment we let those secrets go, and decide to be sincere about something with someone, even if we are accepted or not, it is a fact that we’re going to feel better with ourselves at the end of the day and relief the pressure.

Lastly, I think it is important to say the truth at all matters since it’s easier to generate a negative feeling against the other person at the moment we find out lies or hidden secrets and these feelings of betraying don’t go as easily as we would like. Depending in the emotional stability of the person who has been lied to, this could lead to many consequences that could be a perfect example of this saying: “the cure is worse than the illness”, being the actions this person takes “the cure” and “the illness” not being honest from the beginning; like, for example, revenge such as blackmailing.

In my opinion, settling for being an honest person at all cost with the people I relate with is highly important to build trust in myself and everyone who surrounds me. I’ve always been told that the truth will make us free, and the lies and secrets are always found out sooner or later, and thanks to my experience I can state that this is completely true.