An American film actor once said, “Tomorrow is important and precious”. Some people think individuals and society should pay more attention to the future than to the present. Do you agree or disagree?

The past, present, and future are concepts which contain philosophical meaning. Some people believe that the future is so ebullient and precious that individuals and society should pay more attention to it; others think that it is better to live for the present. As for me, I lean on the idea that people should focus on their present rather than their future due to some rational reasons.

To begin with, living in the present allows people to possess healthy minds and bodies. If people are always worried about the future, they are likely to fail to grasp tiny pieces of the current happy lives and abandon their life's purposes. As a result, people may have to deal with overthinking situations and serious stress. On the other hand, people who live in the present moment are more inclined to live a satisfied and discerning life. Now that they look straight forward to their current lives, they are able to captivate every moment that brightens themselves, sometimes even helps them to overcome a despondent situation in the future. Further and even more importantly, though, self-loving people who focus on their current lifetime seem to have a healthier body. For example, Japanese people, who are reputed for their long lasting longevity, have a habit of meditating every morning that buttresses their flexible bodies. During the dawn, they find a tranquil and quiet place to think about how their lives are going; the purpose of this action is to keep in touch with their life’s goal.

Secondly, people can only have a precious future if only they pay more attention to their present, which is called “preparation”. Normally, people tend to feel so curious about their future that some kind of diverted fortune-telling is created with the purpose of satisfying their curiosity. However, these people seemingly spend their time dreaming of the future without any specific actions for their aspirations. Therefore, it is essential to keep up with the reality so that people can prepare for the future, instead of wasting time virtually chasing for it. To illustrate, I used to imagine that I would enter the only gifted high school in my city; nevertheless, there was no plan to act out my desire compounding my ability overestimation. Consequently, I was snapped out of expectation when I failed to get a slot at that elite school, facing a multitude of scorns from other people.

By way of conclusion, by giving people opportunities to be more cumulative and earn healthy minds and bodies, the present plays a vital role in building an auspicious future.