Are books more important than experience?

Books gives us insight into life! When we look at our life, the question arises, do we learn everything from books or is it experience? I personally believe the basics come from the books we read, but when we practically apply them again and again, that is our experience. Experience is of much more value, I beleive. Things learned through experience, become a strong memory and also books knowledge can not be simply applied to every scenario in our life.

First of all, when we learn through air experience, it becomes a strong memory, and stay there in our heads, for the rest of our lives. What happens is, when things are applied in life, especially those learned from books, we use most of our senses: speaking, listening, recalling, learning to put most of that important stuff in mind. As a result of involvement of all these senses, stuff stays longer and does not fade away easily. I have my own compelling example; I am a medical student. When we study examination methods from book, we look over them and try to memorize steps, But, on the contrary, when we try those steps on our patients, we tend to remember the whole interaction episode. So everyone consider doing those examination methods practically, instead of revising them again and again in your head.

Another thing to be mentioned here is that, when we apply our knowledge practically, we always do not face the ideal scenario mentioned in the books. Those book point and summaries might not work. Instead, we may have to alter or apply our own tricks. For example, when I initially started approaching patients, for there medical history, i used to ask the questions mentioned in books word to words. But unfortunately, in most of the cases I was unable to get my question across. It was frustrating. With experience I realized, sometimes it is better to break down the question further, for easy understanding and comprehension of the patient and also to paraphrase it if they can not exactly get it.

Cutting the long story short, I am a firm believer of the fact that experience is more important than books, but the importance of the books can not be shadowed. All the basic knowledge is in the books, which we can apply in our lives.