Are books more important than experience?

Although there are many viewpoints which support the inevitable role of book in education, science, and social science, and book is a vital source of knowledge, in my perspective, education gained from practice is more valuable than knowledge gained out of book. In the following paragraphs I will try to illustrate my position clearly.

First of all, we should concern that book is prime source for learning some indispensable facts. In school and college we study and learn some lessons that learning them by practice in real world is not feasible. For instance, figuring out and proving the mathematical equations, motion rules, analyzing chemical compounds, et cetera in practical way is both time-consuming and tedious. Scientists, researchers, journalists, and authors have gathered all what is basic and essential for us with difficulties. Likewise, it is not practical and logical go and stand at cross road to examine driving laws by experiment and error. For getting driving license one must pass the theoretical examination. Moreover, you will not have the chance to experience everything by yourself. For instance, traveling foreign countries is highly expensive, difficult, and in some cases dangerous. While reading a book about diverse cultures, climates, and customs provides you numerous worthwhile information in a short period of time.

On the other hand, we cannot learn everything from book and similarly there are some skills and knowledge that can only be learned by practical experience. For example, you cannot learn swimming by just reading guide-book on how to swim. If you want to be a skillful swimmer, you must undoubtedly jump into the pool and cope with challenges. Another example is driving. Whatever you read driving-books, you don’t become an impressive driver unless you seat in the car behind the steering wheel and experience real driving. Furthermore, we learn the most important and the most valuable lessons of life out of experience. We earn self-respect, manner of attitude, politeness and emotional feelings such as love and care from experience, not through book.

Learning from experience definitely is more effective and efficient than from book. Being a chemist student, all fundamentals and concepts can be learned better and deeper through experiment. In addition, when you gain a concept by experience, it lingers in mind approximately forever. Based on personal experience everything I have learned in laboratory has remained in my mind longer. Also, all teachers emphasize in practical experience.

Summarizing the points said above I want to acknowledge that certainly both book and practice is significant in the process of learning. Nevertheless, none of the two can be considered as absolute substitute for the other, I would place the practical experience in advance position in terms of importance, efficiency, and priority.