To be successful at work or at school, we must be creative

In order to progress at work and grow in your career, we need to challenge the status quo thinking out of the box. Many studies have shown that successful professional needs to have logical and creative thoughts. Personally, I believe that it is extremely important to be creative. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, creative people are usually more social as they do not mind sharing their ideas. From a work environment perspective, being social allows the employee to do networking with other colleagues and shows what is capable of. For example, my brother is very creative and he is always talking in the company’s kitchen about his ideas. Thanks to this approach, the marketing team invited him to a meeting as they had an issue with a client. They were going to launch a new product but they were looking for an original idea. My brother has been always very creative so he helps them to find an innovative idea which made my sibling get a promotion giving his advice and honoring the company value of help your colleagues.

Secondly, there are studies showing that to be more creative at work, we need to have a lot of knowledge. This is because, to be creative, we need to have a lot of information on our mind and be able to connect and across different fields. For example, a famous entrepreneur from my country who has developed a lot of new medical devices studied to be an electronic engineer. However, his main hobby was medicine as his all family were doctors so every night he used to have dinner with his family and talk about medical science. As a result, he was able to connect his main career and his hobby to create creative ideas and build medical devices which have changed modern medicine.

Lastly, from an educational point of view, being creative allows you to be different at school and stand out from the crowd. This could potentially call attention and create different opportunities. In my country, there was a student who was always recognized by his class and teachers for his good ideas so he entered to a state competition. After a few rounds, he won a scholarship to study abroad thanks to his creative ideas and his teacher’s recognition to push him to be a better student.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that to be successful at work or at school, we must be creative for the several reasons that I provided above.