Some people prefer to change jobs or professions during their careers. Others choose to stay in the same job or profession. Discuss the advantages of each choice. Which do you prefer? Use reasons and examples to explain your choice.

Organization & Development

Many people think that staying in the same job or profession is the best approach to do a career in a company. They think that loyalty is the most imporant value for an employee to have. I disagree with this idea because I firmly believe that a person should experience and compare a few jobs in their life in order to be the best. The reasons for my belief are social, educational personal.

First of all, from a personal point of view, people should have a minimum of 3 jobs in their lifes to know if the current job is the best that they can get. It is very hard to compare with others if you have not have at least 2 roles to compare. In contrast, if a person has had only one job his entire life, it won't be able to see the advantages and disadvatanges from each job. For example, it is hard to tell that someone has a good boss if this person has never had another boss before.

From a social perspective, It is very important for a professional to have many contacts. In consequence, the idea of having several jobs allows the employee to have a big social network. For instance, my brother has been working on the advertisement industry for the last 10 years and he had 3 jobs. He knows everyone on the field so everytime that there is an event, he is able to have conversations with a lot of people. One of the advatanges of this is that he has met a lot of people who are now his clients because his ex colleagues have presented him many people. On the other hand, if you know only the people who works in your company, it is hard to have a big social network and meet new people.

Finally, professionals who have had another profession before have abroad understanding of several matters. They are capable to learn faster and in the long term, grow in their career. For example, a friend of mine has a degree on graphic design. However, she opt to self studying web development so now is she is a full stack web developer with design skills. Something that every company wants because she is able to create projects and have abroad vision. In contrast, a web developer who has not experience on design has different and reduced view.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that changing jobs or professions is better than staying in the same job or profession. This is because, people can compare between experiences, professionals can have more contacts on their industry and they can have abroad view on task.