People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people think that having a degree is not important anymore. Nowadays you can learn everything from the internet and there are many cases which demonstrate that you can be successful without formal education. I disagree with this idea. I believe that going to the university takes priority over start working full time after high school because it allows the future professional to be more prepared. The reasons for my belief are social, philosophical and economical.

First of all, the university enables students to do networking and expand their contacts. For instance, during the progression of their degree, the undergraduates are able to interact and talk with many people who can be in the near future, colleagues on a job. In addition, if students can go to the lectures, it will open the possibility to debate and learn from interesting topics. In contrast, the internet or self-studying does not allow debates between students.

From a philosophical point of view, the university is a safe environment where students can make mistakes and learn from them. Successful people challenge the status quo to innovate on fields. In consequence, If a person has made mistakes and learned a few times on a formal institution, it will be easier when the individual makes mistakes at work. On the opposite side, an individual who has not experienced this opportunity will likely to be more conservative and will not challenge the status quo.

Economically, it is generally believed that people with a degree have more chances to get better interviews. For example, a resume is more likely to be read if it comes from a recognized university. Experience on different projects and jobs are important but having a degree demonstrates discipline and responsibility. Furthermore, sometimes employees are rewarded with bigger salaries if they have demonstrated good grades in university.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the university is important and people attends college for several reasons. This is because it enables to do networking, it allows society to make mistakes in a safe environment and it helps to have more job opportunities with better salaries.