In some organisations, promotions are based on seniority, while in other organisations, promotions are based on performance.Discuss advantages of each position. Then indicate which position you think is best and why.

Some people may think that promotions should be based on seniority. Others may prefer to be based on performance. The way organisations create the company´s structure and move vertically their human resources could work differently for each of them. In my opionion, I prefer an organisation that promotes their employees by seniority.

First of all, being a senior worker demonstrates a constant achievement of the company´s goals. Each company has different goals on their fiscal year which needs to be align with the investors or the founders of the company. For example, a senior staff who has been in the company for a long time, knows exactly how his or her goals are align with the company. On the contrary, a junior staff can perform well but it probably be more focus on his or her personal interests. This example demonstrates that achieving your performance is not enough to get a promotion.

Secondly, a person who is in a senior role has been consistent on time. An employee who has been in the company several years has demonstrated each year a good performance in order to be on that position. On the other hand, a junior member could perform well on the first year but not in the future. Personally, I think that to get a promotion and be closer to a management role, the employee needs to deliver good results every year.

Third, there is popular phrase which illustrates that when a person gets older, then it become more savvy. In my view, this aligns with my position. Being senior not only shows good performance, it also demonstrates that the employee has been part of different or hard situations which has contribute to learn other skills like communitation or delegation.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that promotions should be based on seniority. This is because a senior has a macro view of the company which helps to align his goals with the organisation´s goals, it has been constant in time and it has other skills than a Junior may not have.