We can learn more from people at a higher level than us (like teachers) than from people who are at the same level as us

Some people may learn more from people at a higher level than us. Others may feel more comfortable from people at the same level. In my opinion, learning from people who have more experience is better. The reasons for my view are philosophical and personal.

First, from a philosophical point of view, learning from individuals with more experience and education allow us to cut the mistakes that we would have in the learning curve. As an example, learning a new skill or a language is difficult. If we are able to know from the beginning what is correct or incorrect, it will help us to improve faster. Furthermore, if the teacher is able to give us only the tasks which will enable us to gain more experience and learn from our mistakes, it will be easier to learn the new skill or language. For example, when I was learning how to play the guitar, I tried to learn from a friend. However, there were some parts of a song that I was not able to do it properly as my friend has never learned how to play it. As a result, I had to take some lessons with a teacher. He explained to me that I was doing a few things wrong and he provided me good examples of how to improve my technique.

Secondly, I really enjoy learning from someone who has already done something that I am trying to do. Watching a professional achieving what you are practicing is very enriching as you can see yourself doing it if you keep going. For example, when I was learning how to surf, I took some classes at a surfing school in Sydney. Being able to see my teacher surfing was amazing as he taught me the basics and the steps that I need to do to be like him. Surfing is a difficult and dangerous sport. In my experience, learning from someone who has more experience, gives me trust and confidence to keep going. In addition, I have more fun as I am able to share my feeling with someone who has already felt like during the learning process.

In conclusion, learning from people at a higher level than me, it is better than learning from people who are at the same level for the reasons that I provided above.