Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

It has long been a hot controversy among contemporary scientists that living in the past was more pleasant than today. As far as I am concerned, answering to this question is imperative as it deals with the main parameters of satisfaction of life. I believe, early generations were more satisfied because of the slow pace of life.

The first plain reason that I should mention is that older people did not have modern technology. The technology plays an important role in the way we live today. According to a research conducted by one of the most reputable universities in my country, modern people who did not use cell phones for a month told that they feel better about their life. On the other hand, after using Internet consistently by some students for a long time, researchers confirmed that using modern technology can bring us a deep sorrow. Another example from my own experience may shed some light to this point, I remember when I was in high school, I had to use Internet a lot for my homework. After finishing high school, I was somehow upset about the way of my life. However, new technology can help us to hasten do our jobs, it brings the sorrow as its side effect.

The second reason for my propensity is that new generation has to adapt and change very fast by every new adventure. In the past, mankind had a constant way of living from the birthday to the death. For example, each generation had the same pattern of living. This made people feel more stable and as the stability has a big effect on satisfaction of life, elderly citizens are more satisfied with their lives.

Last but not least, people were happier in the past compared to now, because they had more time to celebrate and having fun. For instance, my father told me about the number of the celebrations day which was higher than today. As the world is changing so quickly, people do not have enough time for having fun or talking to the family members. The hustle and bustle of cities do not leave any time for actions which we love.

To conclude, considering the above reasons, people are less happy with their lives. From my own observations, younger generations are seeking to reach to the calmness way of living in the past.