Children should only play sports for fun, or play sports in competition or contest?

Playing sport is always a interesting hobby for children to do. However, people will ask, should children play sports for fun or for competition? Some people may prefer children should play sports only for fun, but I think it is better for children to play sports in competition.

To begin with, competitions is the motivation for children to develop faster. To be more specific, competitions include win and loss. When children win a game, they will feel the hard work they had done and keep putting effort during the practice. Also, children who lost can learn about ways to improve themselves. Take a tennis team as an example, if the children in the team only play tennis for fun, they are not going to put any effort during practice, because when there is no competitions involve, children will not have the pressure and ambitious to win the game. Therefore, children should play sport in competitions. During the competition, they will focus on others’ advantages and use it to improve themselves. Moreover, since they have the ambitious to win the game, they will try their best in the competition in order to dominant. In this way, children can improve themselves not only independently but also more efficient than children who play sports for fun. Indeed, by playing in a competition can help children have a faster development. As a result, children should play sports in competitions instead of playing for fun.

In addition, competitions are actually a more interesting way to play sports. The reason why I say this is because when people play sports just for fun such as throwing baseball to each other or shooting the basket, it can be very boring for children. Think about playing card games, who will want to play card games without a winner and losers? For instance, I used to be in a tennis team. During the practice, we can learn a lot but that is not the part we like to do. The thing we actually want to do is to join competitions, because competitions involve many different aspect. We need to use the techniques our coach teach us and think about the strategies to win the game. Beside, every child have a dream of being a professional player and so do I. Every time when I hit a great shot, I feel like I am Roger Federer, which is my favourite tennis player from Sweden. Moreover, when we win a competition, we can receive some rewards and this is another reason why we like to attend competitions. As a result, competitions are the most interesting part of playing a sport. Therefore, children should definitely engage in competitions when they are playing sports.

Undoubtedly, some people may say that it is better for children to play sports just for fun, because playing in a real competitions can cause some serious conflicts and it is not good for children’s develop. However, I think learn to solve conflicts is also a ability children need to learn about. Thus, children should play sports in competitions instead of playing for fun.