As cities become more crowded and cars increasingly fill streets and highways, many people believe that municipalities need to work harder to promote the use of public transit such as buses, trains, and subways. In many cases, though, the cost of doing this is too high or the public interest is too low.

- what can local governments do to make public transportation more attractive to residents?

- How can they fund these public transportation systems?

Provide detailed reasons and examples to support your answer.

As documented in researches, as the population grows, the roads are becoming more crowded by cars. Thus, some people claim that municipalities must offer a way to convince people to tend to use public transit instead of private vehicles, which is costly. I personally believe that the best attempt that cities can do is to increase the tax paying rate on citizens the reasons for which will be demonstrated in the following essay.

No need to say, people have always reacted positively to taxes and became disciplined in any areas. To put in simple, before tax-paying method, people used to buy fuels, cloths and other things much more than they needed, but after the governments imposed the taxes on many aspects of life, individuals became less affordable to buy everything in any amount they wanted, and consequently tended to purchase whatever they really needed. To relate this to people’s transportation, when the government imposes more money in crowded roads on private-owned cars, citizens would tend to use buses, trains, and metros rather than automobiles. For example, last year the government of Islamic Iran raised the price of fuels for cars, and after several months you could realize how much the traffic had become lighter and the public conveyances more crowded. On the other hands, local authorities also can make people more aware of this phenomena, using the local public transport and not the cars, by raising taxes.

Indeed, in order to lead people into crowd transit, governments can fund on providing awareness campaigns using the money which has been accumulated from citizen’s taxes. As a matter of explanation, everybody needs to know that why and how they want to use for example subways; it would not be done until some social networks make people convinced that subways are not only less tax-free but also more affordable, convenient, environmentally responsible, and importantly safer. More precisely, after imposing more money on riding car in the streets and highways, still some people would tend to use their own vehicle because they think they have more money, cars are more convenient, and public means of transit are not suitable for them. Therefore, special campaigns can result in awareness of those people about advantages of using group transportation.

To sum up, by raising levy on automobiles, governments of cities can kill two birds with one stone; they will not only attract people's attention into community transport but also make people more disciplined and aware about mass services using people’s own money for their own self financially.