In order to attract more tourists, the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets. Which way do you think is more effective?

Tourism is one of the most important factors in the growth of a country in many aspects, thus this question comes in mind that what mostly determines the choice of the tourist destination. With this in mind, governments of the countries may try to improve safety by hiring more polices or desirability and appeal of old sites in order to lead tourism into their own destination. From my perspective, the first idea is better due to two main reasons which will be demonstrated in the following essay.

First and for most, most of the international visitors choose their destination based on ancient sites with natural beauties. To put in simple, old buildings, monuments, sites, museums, and art galleries are the most important targets for tourists because mostly they want to learn something profound about the historical and cultural heritage of that country; the more sightseeing is uncombined with modernity, the more invaluable information the tourists can gain. Thus, repairing old sites will not only make it artificial but also lower national audiences' interest toward it. My own experience is a compelling example of this explanation. Two years ago we had some guests from Germany, who used to travel various countries, at first we thought it would be better to invite them into luxury hotels and show modern-based galleries, but the shocking thing was that they refuted it and told us they love to stay at our clay house. For about two weeks, they visited ancient houses and streets which were very old, and they used to discuss the history behind those historic buildings. At last, they were grateful that they could gather invaluable information and took some genuine samples of sites.

Second, security is a decisive criterion for choosing a destination for international tourists. In other words, tourist industries are trying to make their tourist sites free from danger because when visitors want to choose between alternatives, their first priority is somewhere more secure; for their pockets and also political issues between countries, they are more vulnerable to attacks. To illustrate, reading about tourism attraction factors, I found an interesting survey--called CNN survey carried out in 2012-- about the relation between Global Tourism, whether on leisure or business aspects, and various criteria visitors consider when choosing their destination. The company had surveyed about three thousand respondents from more than 70 countries worldwide and asked them about decision-making factors. Then, two-thirds of global respondents had reported safety and security prior to other elements. Some of the survey participants had commented that "sadly, we do not feel safe traveling to places of interest, such as Iran, Egypt, and Russia". Moreover, another research has pointed out that Portugal is an effective safe country with low crimes and no terrorist attacks so far, which has contributed to the growth of tourist flow in recent years. Thus, governments can tackle this problem down by providing more military.

To sum up, in contrast to some beliefs, original ancient sites draw crowds of tourists and there is no need to fix them. On the other hands, the presence of many international visitors presupposes the safeness of a specific country, and estates by funding on the army for defense would prepare the condition suitable for them.