College students should be required to take basic economics courses, even though their majors are not economics.

Some people believe that taking basic economic courses may benefit any college students. However, I am against such statement and strongly believe that such enforcement only has drawbacks.

To begin with, necessiating basic economics courses may amplify dissatisfaction among students. Even though knowledges in basic economics can be helpful in some degrees, but it will only cause negative effects once this policy is implemented. This is especially true in some area that is apart from such disciplines such as art major, music major. For example, a university in Seoul implemented similar policy, taking a financial classes as a prerequisite course, and conseqently students showed big concerns toward such policy. For students, they were dissatisfied with taking such courses regardless of their own will. This dissatisfaction would impede students' will to study. Thus, considering the morale of students, requiring students to take such courses will only negatively affect to the students.

In addition, requiring students to take such courses may reduce proficiency on some fields. When students take subjects that is irrelevant to their fields, they lose chances to develop more profound knowledge on their field of study. Most students have to graduate within 8 semesters and the courses that they can enroll are limited. But when they take a course which teaches them 'basic' and 'irrelevant' information, the time spent on taking such courses becomes useless. For instance, one of my collegues regreted his freshman year and were very pessimistic toward required courses since he never learnt something either professional or useful for his future job. Many students found it unnecessary and skipped the classes often. If school did not implemented such courses, he would have spent time on more relevant courses or some curriculum that would motivate him to work hard. Therefore, taking any courses as mandatory would even disturb some students to develop profound knowledge.

To sum, even though basic economic courses may seem to be beneficial to anyone, it needs serious consideration since it would only discourage students' motification and deprive students' opportunity to build up more deeper understanding toward their career.