The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the

statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people strongly believe that the greatness of individuals can be hardly gain their respect by their comtemporaries. While some aspects of the arguement may be agreeable, the nature of rapidly-changing society and circumstances arrounding the great people may provide better chances to diffuse their greatness to the public.

Admittedly, some greatest masterpieces or historic figures are often disregarded by their comtemporaries. This is because the greatness itself may confront unexpected and various pressures from others. For example, when famous women writers such as Mary Wollstonecraft wrote 'Vindication for women', her writings were condemned by people due to her private life and radical nature of her writings which asserted the same rights should be equally given to women in nineteenth century in England. She was almost forgotten for a century until feminist writers and critics started to reexplore her contributions. No one would deny that there are so many 'Wollstonecraft' in our history. Seen from the history, it seems obvious that the true evaluation on one's greatness can not be well treated by one's contemporaries.

However, in some areas, the greatness can be fairly decided during the great individuals' life time. Considering the case of Stephen Hawking, some greatest findings are welcomed and receive proper evaluation by their contemporaries. Stephen Hawking, the greated scientist in Physics, has expanded his theory throughout his life. While debating about the nature of blackhole and universe when he was about 24, he started to develop his ideas of quantum theory and big band theory. Starting from early moment of his academic career, Stephen Hawking was almost never mistreated by others. Thus, it is too hasty to conclude that posthumos evaluation is the best for deciding one's greatness.

Moreover, thanks to the development of Internet, some contributions and the greatness of individuals can be highlighted by public in short period of time. Unlike the past, when individuals were assessed by rather parachial field or society, the online world enables individuals to find potential advocates for great individuals in a rapid and powerful way. Think of any Youtube stars who gained millions viewers. Youtube may make a street musician a super star. Therefore, the circumstances became more favorable for great individuals not to fade away from the history.

In sum, many people may agree that the greatness is hardly reconized as it is by contemporaries; however, this is not always true and there are still many possibilities for potential great individuals.