Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

As the uncertainty of society increases, some people argue that universities enforce their students to take courses outside the student's field of study. This recommendation may sound plausible at a first glance, however, it is hasty to say that such recommendation would work in any field of study.

Granted, in these days, interdisciplinary studies would guarantee the success of students at the job market. Considering the high unemployment rates and the rapidly-changing society, learning from various backgrounds provides more opportunaties for students in the job market. This seems to be true when we take a look at some successful figures' backgrounds. For example, if Steve Jobs, who initiated design-centric device to the mobile industry, and Mark Zuckerberg, the co-founder of Facebook, had had their background in a single area, they might have not succeeded in the era of uncertainty. As a plethora of people already know, Jobs and Zuckerberg not only had knowledge on techonology, but also had a wide range of backgrounds in art and communicative manners. These aspects prove that in order to suceed and survive in unpredictable society, learning from other fields of study is inevitable.

However, such assertion does not guarantee rosy future for any field of study. Some fields may have rather adverse impacts when applying such recommendation. Sometimes, requiring students to take courses from outside their fields allows only shallow learning for their fields of study. University students only have 4 years to finish their course works. But within limited time, if students are forced to learn outside of their fields, the depth of their specialization would be impeded. Conwequently, it would only lead to the shallow learning of students and make them less competitive for the future.

For these reasons, such recommendation should not be applied to every field of study.