"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

The memorandum written by the business manager of Happy Pancake House argues that the Happy Panckae House should replace butter to margarine for cost-saving throughout the country. Even though this argument may sound plausible at first glance, the author is making a hasty conclusion based on rather illogical assumptions.

First, the author believes that its change to magarine was successful since only 2 percent of customers have reported formal complaints. The author assumes that such low percent of complaints prove that the satisfied responses toward change. However, it is possible that customers may have negative thoughts on the changes but do not know how to report their complaints. Even though servers have mentioned that their customers did not show any complain when they were given margarine instead, it is still possible that rather than reporting via formal complaints channel, the customers may show their dissatisfaction toward servers, or share comments through SNS and not making any comments and decided not to visit the store again. Thus, the author's assumption that low rate in formal complaints prove the success of the change in Happy Pancake House should be reconsidered.

Second, the author assumes that its change would be successful throught the country. However, the author is making a hasty generalization that the Southwestern cases would work well in other circumstance as well. This might not be true since it is possible that Southwestern tastes are different from the national average and customers in other regions may show negative response to the change in butter to magarine. Not only that, it is also plausible that customers in southwester regions are not active customers and do not show their satisfaction toward the food but customers from other regions can be very sensitive to either customer deception. In any cases, the change may not give the same results for the customers in other regions. Therefore, the author's assumption that this change will be successful to other part of the country is unconvincing.

Last, the author believes that the customers do not care about its changes to magarine since they cannot even distinguish butter from magarine. However, even though they cannot distiungish the incredients and sometimes they confuse the literal name of them, it does not mean that they cannot detect the changes in tastes. Thus, the author's assumption that customers' ignorance to the product can be regarded as the postive signal for the cheaper replacement should not be taken seriously.

In sum, without thorough consideration, the author's assertion needs more explanation.