Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Some believe that universities should require every student to take courses other than their major. Despite the demands on such education policy, however, it does not always guarantee the quality of education at university.

Admittedly, many job markets in these days prefer those who have knowledge in various fields. With the advent of fourth revolution which needs technological development with fields outside the technology, multiple companies require their (future) workers to have various knowledge. Before the rise of creative industries, many mainly considered factors such as mass production and cost savings. However, after the rise of creative industries, companies started to consider factors use to be unproductive. For example, Apple, which produces iPhone considers design and innovative thinking as important standards to be successful. To compete in the smart phone industries, other competitor such as Samsung is now providing educational program related to arts and philosophy to their workers. Thus, to enhance both hardware and software, interdisciplinary approach is required. Accordingly, to satisfy the job market demands and meet expectation of university students, the author’s claim can be agreed to a certain degree.

However, the idea that universities should require outside courses may be challenged for several reasons; that is, university students might lose their chances for profound understanding in their major. Some may argue that students are able to learn ‘broad’ and ‘general’ knowledge throughout university life. But that’s nothing but naïve idea. Considering double-majoring case, students who are pursuing double degrees take only half of courses compared to single-major students. Therefore, contrary to the author’s claim, requiring outside courses to every student can have dark side in pursuing professional knowledge at university.

Furthermore, such policy will inevitably cause restructuring on unpopular major. Universities may implicitly or explicitly provide programs that market prefers. We witnessed that school curriculum is influenced by the outer factors such as job market conditions. When personal computer was distributed, computer use classes became mandatory courses. Recently, as AI and IoT technology is rising, some universities are teaching software program to their students. Without considering students’ real demands, universities may provide courses that market prefers. While market-friendly courses survive and increases in number, some courses that is not related to such interests may be decreased or disappear. Hence, the author’s claim that requiring outside courses to every student can be dangerous in the perspective of diversity of academy.

In conclusion, while the author’s claim might seem beneficial in certain conditions, the idea that requiring outside courses to every student is not always guarantee good results.