Universities should require every student to take a variety of course outside the student’s field of study.

knowledge accumulated around the civilization is now converging. knowledge bases that have been seperate piles with distinct boundaries are now coalescing; many fields now have shared knowledge accross them, or on field borrowing knowledge from another. Thus, it have been being daunting task cumulitatively to seperate specific courses for specific fields of studies. Furtthermore, the university courses being highly specific and diving deep into the subject matter, engaging in only a similar set of courses would result in the student missing out on developing vital skills that may bolster life long learning, that some other set of courses in a different field would provide. it is with this wholistic argument that I agree with the statement that universitiesshould require every student take a variety of courses outside their field of study.

Though the university student is considered to be a matured human being, there are a myriad of things that they should learn before stepping into the world of corporations- or academia for that matter. The students may have not developed these basic skills in their primary and secondary education. In such a situation, it would be undesirable for the semi matured student to be highly specified in a field, who lacks general skills to thrive in the industry. For example, an engineering student, who have followed a stream of education heavily focusing on pure math and science, may not cover the fundamentals of management and soft skills needed to the level that the contemporary industry expect from a potential employee. In such a situation, requiring the student to follow key management courses would help the student to initiate and harness those skills. Here, "requiring" the student is important becasue the student may not know the importance due to lack of industry exposure.

Taking up variety of studies out of the field would help the modern student to improve their mental health. studies have shown how present students in universities are frustrated with their course work. some go as far as to suiciding. this is not a desirable condition. If the universities require, for example, the students in the engineering field to pursue courses in aesthetics, they would find the mere change of courses soothing, let alone appreciation of the content. it would give the students to explore the beauty of the world and the philosophical interpretations, which they might be missing out with heavy technical focus. having this type of philosophical outlook would help the students to forego their frustrations and to enjoy the life in a more vivid perspective.

Havinf said that, including a variety of courses would be advantageous to the students in a more technical perspective too. As there are more and more gray areas being created between seemingly incomaptible fields of studies, knowledge on other courses from significanlty different to one's field of study would improve the chances of success of the student in his/her proffession. Furethermore, it would allow smooth transission among career paths, should one finds out at a later point in their career a more suitable career path. there are cases where doctors, who have followed the stream of biology for most of their time, have moved into machine learning, where it involves key concepts from communication theory.

In the modern world flexibbility is a key factor. mental stability and well being have become a luxury. Variey of course modules, aside from their field of study would help students achieve this advantages.