The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

According to the given passage, the author recommends that current stockholders and potential stockholders should not purchase stock in Old Dairy Industries. To support his/her claim, the author cites a recent study and points out the nature of Old Dairy Industries' products which go against the market demands. However, some pieces of evidence given in the passage needs to be scrutized well since it relies on invalid warrants.

To begin with, the author claims as such by citing a recent survey that potential consumers' preference is inclined to the low-fat products. However, there are many suspicious points within this cited survey. Respondents may have answered that they are willing to reduce their intake of foods with high fat and cholesterol; nevertheless, since this survey was done recently and not repetitively done, this preference may have been temporary phenomenon. That is, it is possible that at different time period people may response that they prefer something very sweet or greesy which contain high fats and cholesterols.

Not only that, even though the author mentioned that majority of respondents (over 80 percent) answered as such, the survey remains unreliable unless the respondents' data was collected with appropriate research procedure specifically on the composition of respondents (i.g. age, income, sex), the sufficient number of respondents in order to generalize the survey results. If certain backgrounds of respondents was not filtered or respondents number was too small, the author inevitably loses his/her rationale. Thus, further evidence on the survey is needed.

Moreover, the respondents showed their desire rather than actual behavior on consuming healthy food. The desire never brings the actual action; that is, their desire isn't their firm decision. It may be dangerous to rely on such unstable attitudes in business.

Moreover, the author maintains that people won't consume the Old Dairy's products and its profits will decrease. However, the author neglects that the mentioned products which is high in fat is 'currently' 'marketed' products. Considering the fact that not all products are being marketed, the number of products with high fats might be insignificant among the total number of products. Additionally, since the high in fat and cholesterol products were just currently marketed, it is possible that Old Dairy might have marketed their products for healthier aspects for the most of their marketing time. Therefore, the author should not draw rather hasty conclusion by such short-term marketing strategy.

In sum, the author should provide further evidence to support the claim that it may be risky to hold Old Dairy's stocks.