A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

As a resident of a small, but fast developing community, I think that emerging of a new factory next to my town would be economically beneficial for the place. Therefore, I personally would support the idea of building of the factory.

First of all, the building would provide a variety of workplaces for local people. For example, a lot of my neighbors have to drive long distances to get to work. But with the development of the factory nearby, they will get a chance to get a job not so far away from their homes. It is going to save their time and decrease expenses on gas, which undoubtedly will improve their quality of life.

Secondly, the construction of the factory would motivate the development of other businesses. Employees of the factory have to eat, drink and fill up their vehicles. These demands will stimulate the opening of new restaurants, grocery stores and gas stations next to the factory. Furthermore, a big amount of workers on the factory can encourage the emerging of new hospitals and schools, which will be advantageous not only for the factory`s employees but for the whole community.

Finally, although residents of the town could be concerned with ecological consequences of the new construction, it actually can stimulate the leaders of the community to develop new regulations to protect the environment. For instance, the government could craft different programs to prohibit to the factory to pollute the environment with harmful components by using special secure techniques or products during the manufacturing process. Moreover, the government, together with the factory could fund a building of a new roadway outside the community, to prevent traffic problems, which the emerging of the factory could bring up.

To conclude, I am of opinion, that alongside with the development of meaningful environmental regulations, the construction of the new factory near my community would be advantageous for the town. This is because it will provide locals with new jobs and will bring new businesses and services to the community.