Some young children spend a great amount of their time practicing sports. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Participating in sports for children, as well as for adults, can have positive and negative aspects. From the one side, sport can help to develop valuable skills. On the other hand, some sports activities can lead to injuries and other health problems. Overall, I personally think that spending a lot of time on sports is beneficial for children. There are a few reasons why I feel this way.

First of all, participating in sports makes children patient in achieving their goals. It is no secret, that to succeed in any sport, a sportsman has to practice again and again. He/she has to start from the very basics and improve gradually. If the child is capable of pursuing this routine and enhancing in the sport, he/she will eventually understand that through the hard work he /she can excel in the same way in any field. For example, I am a former volleyball player. Back in the school, I practiced playing volleyball a lot. I had to master every skill patiently and through a large effort. Today, it is a not a big deal for me to study constantly for many hours a day to pass the TOEFL test. I know that in the result, my hard work will be paid off. Although, children, who spent a myriad of time training, sometimes lack the opportunity to have fun with their friends, in the future will benefit from the habit of the constant practicing. To that end, the regular practicing in the childhood helps people to follow their aims throughout their lives.

Secondly, participating in sports actively lets students evolve great communication skills. A variety of sports are the team activities. Through the constant communication with the teammates, a child will be able to learn about people`s behavior and how to deal with it. As much the child connects with others, as much he/she feels comfortable in any society. Nowadays, the ability to communicate effectively is indispensable to succeed in life, since the modern business mainly based on the teamwork. If a person is not capable of socializing quickly in a new work environment, he/she will hesitate to ask questions about the features of the new job from colleagues and thus, the process of adaptation to the new workplace could take a long time. So, the continuous connection with peers while practicing sports is advantageous for children in terms of obtaining crucial social experience.

To conclude, I think that disadvantageous of spending a great amount of children`s time practicing sports, fade in front of the advantageous. This is because, even sometimes children can get hurt during the training and do not have a quite time for the leisure with their friends, through the extend practicing they will acquire important skills to become successful adults.