A/D: People often buy products not because they really need them but because other people have them.

Certainly, this is a fast-changing society thanks to the progress of science and technology, so a large array of new product keep emerging one after another. The speed of irritation is as quick as individuals can’t imagine. This trend triggers a fresh topic that the reason people purchase items is because of their feeling of envy to others, instead of their necessity. From my perspective, it’s my belief that the statement is plausible. Some reasons and examples are given below.

To begin with, individuals sometime let their vanity encroach their mind. In fact, with the increasingly fierce competitions in the society, people usually desire to equip themselves with the latest stuff such as fancy clothing, advanced electronics, expensive cars in order to not to be lagged behind by (inferior to others). Let’s imagine such scene: there isn’t particular dress code implemented, so some students coming from wealthy family prefer to wear clothes from well-known and luxurious brands, which provides them with sense of superiority over the rest of students. With each passing day, there will be a large number of ordinary students engaging in this trend of showing off because they don’t want to be squeezed out or looked down upon by others. In other words, blindly following the trend is the effort they make to better get involved in this friend circle. Some even ask their parents to handle their purchase on costly clothing due to their vanities. As a result, it is unhealthy to teenagers’ growth and form correct view on value of money.

In addition, expenditure oriented toward pleasing others is a feasible means of making money. Indeed, in business world, they usually turn the sports in to a form of networking and socializing with potential customers. Therefore, if individual would like to devote his or her money into the sports, he or she easily builds up a communicative bridge between the target cooperative partner and himself or herself. As a result, friendship is established which lubricates the negotiation someday in future. Take my uncle as an example, he is an entrepreneur and a senior golf-player. He once revealed to me that one of the reasons he plays golf not only drove by golf itself but also drove by the environment there where a wealth of successful executives also play golf. Even though golf itself is a relatively costly sport that helps people to show their social status, the value it makes outweighs the how much people spend, as there are chances to even earn more money.

In a nutshell, people do spend money because of other people since sometimes their mind are stuffed with vanity and they consider it is one of means that work out for making money.